Volunteer with Friends of the Columbia Gorge

For decades volunteers have been the backbone of Gorge protection

Volunteer with Friends of the Columbia Gorge
Volunteers pull invasive weeds on Gorge trail #400 in fall 2018 (photo: Brandon Davis)

Are you interested in joining an inspiring community to keep the Gorge a national treasure? We'd like to meet you! There are a variety of ways to make a difference in the Gorge. Here are a few:

 
  • Join a stewardship work party
  • Lead or shepherd a hike or outing
  • Help out with office projects
  • Supervise an information table at a community event
  • Participate in a hearing, rally or phone bank
View Upcoming Volunteer Opportunities
 

Volunteering Benefits

  • Invitation to our Annual Volunteer Celebration held each winter in Portland
  • Complimentary pass to the Columbia Sportswear Employee Store in Beaverton
  • The great feeling of being a part of a community dedicated to keeping the Gorge an unspoiled treasure for generations to come!

Interested in Volunteering? Here's who to contact

If you're interested in...
Stewarding lands: Stewardship Volunteer Coordinator Mika Barrett, mika@gorgefriends.org (public lands stewardship), and Sara Woods, sara@gorgefriends.org (stewardship at Friends Land Trust preserves)
Making thank-you calls; hosting an online fundraiser or fundraising event: Development Manager Elizabeth Brooke-Willbanks, elizabeth@gorgefriends.org
Serving as a Trailhead Ambassador: Trailhead Ambassador Coordinator Natalie Ferraro, natalie@gorgefriends.org
Leading or shepherding hikes; helping with youth education programs: Outdoor Programs Coordinator Kate Lindberg, katel@gorgefriends.org
Attending rallies and hearings, phone banking or tabling: Conservation Organizer Ryan Rittenhouse, ryan@gorgefriends.org

We are not seeking office volunteers at this time.